Let’s start the insanity…

I’ve long considered blogging, but have been hesitant up to this point.  There are many within the SQL Server community (Paul Randal, Kimberly Tripp, Joe Sack, and Jonathan Kehayias, to name a few) that are far more knowledgeable than I.  Given this, I wondered if there was anything I could contribute?  The answer: probably not much in the way of new technical revelations but, hopefully, in the way of experience.

I’ve been a SQL Server DBA for roughly 10 years and, along the way, have many times been tasked with exonerating SQL Server when something goes wrong with an application.  Is it running slowly?  Database problem.  Logical drive disappeared from the server?  Database problem.  Server not pinging?  Database problem.  Supplying incorrect login credentials (i.e. bad password)?  Database problem.  While this can be frustrating at times, it can also produce positive results.  It can breed humility that, ideally, encourages a DBA to validate his or her assertions and assumptions, and instill a desire to help a customer that simply wants his or her problem fixed.

What follows will be posts based on my experiences as the Default Blame Assignment (DBA) for application problems encountered within two very large companies.  I can’t take credit for the acronym, as I saw Jonathan Kehayias mention it in one of his many informative blog posts.  I hope that these posts will help both DBAs and developers alike, who may be seeking answers to a particular problem.  Along the way, I will also strive to give credit to the individuals that have provided, and continue to provide, great help that makes me a better DBA.  Here we go…

Leave a Reply

